## 20.—Legislatures and Premiers of Manitoba 1932-55 and Ministry as at May 31, 1955 Legislatures 1932-55:

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
June 16, 1932 July 27, 1936 Apr. 22, 1941 Oct. 15, 1945 Nov. 10, 1949 June 8, 1953	19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly 21st General Assembly 22nd General Assembly 23rd General Assembly 24th General Assembly	4 5 5 4 7	Feb. 14, 1933 Feb. 18, 1937 Dec. 9, 1941 Feb. 19, 1946 Feb. 14, 1950 Feb. 2, 1954	June 12, 1936 Mar. 13, 1941 Sept. 8, 1945 Sept. 29, 1949 Apr. 23, 1953

<sup>1</sup> The Ministries from 1932-55 were: 12th Ministry sworn in Aug. 8, 1922 under the leadership of Hon. J. Bracken; 13th Ministry sworn in Jan. 14, 1943 under the leadership of Hon. Stuart S. Garson; 14th Ministry sworn in Nov. 13, 1948 under the leadership of Hon. D. L. Campbell.
2 Life of Legislature not expired at May 31, 1955.

## Fourteenth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 8, 1953; 32 Liberal Progressives, 3 Independent Liberal Progressives, 12 Progressive Conservatives, 5 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 1 Labour Progressive, 2 Social Credit, 2 Independents.)

Note. - See headnote to Table 15.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
President of the Council and Minister of Dominion-Provincial Relations.  Attorney-General.  Minister of Public Works.  Minister of Mines and Natural Resources and Minister of Labour.  Minister of Health and Public Welfare.  Minister of Education.  Minister of Municipal Affairs and Provincial Secretary.  Provincial Treasurer and Minister of Industry and Commerce.  Minister of Agriculture and Immigration.  Minister of Public Utilities.	Hon. Douglas L. Campbell Hon. Michael N. Hryhorczuk Hon. Francis C. Bell Hon. Charles E. Greenlay Hon. Robert W. Bend Hon. Edmond Prefontaine Hon. Ronald D. Turner Hon. Ronald D. Robertson Hon. Charles L. Shuttleworth	Feb. 15, 1946 Jan. 25, 1955 Feb. 15, 1946 Dec. 1, 1951 Dec. 1, 1951 Nov. 7, 1952	(Nov. 13, 1948) Dec. 14, 1948 Jan. 25, 1955 Jan. 25, 1955 Jan. 25, 1955 Sept. 4, 1953 Dec. 14, 1948 Jan. 25, 1955 Aug. 16, 1950 (Dec. 1, 1951 Sept. 4, 1953 Nov. 7, 1952 Sept. 4, 1953

## Subsection 8.—Saskatchewan

The Government of the Province of Saskatchewan consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly.

The Honourable W. J. Patterson, Lieutenant-Governor at May 31, 1955, was commissioned to office July 4, 1951. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 95.

The statutory number of members of the Legislative Assembly is 53, elected for a maximum term of five years.

As of Apr. 1, 1954 the Premier receives \$8,500 and each Cabinet Minister \$7,000 annually in addition to the sessional indemnity while the Leader of the Opposition, the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker receive \$4,000, \$2,000 and \$1,000 respectively. The sessional indemnity of a Member of the Legislature is \$2,400 together with an expense allowance of \$1,200. Members for the three northernmost constituencies of Cumberland, Athabasca and Meadow Lake each receive an additional \$500.